Page 1 of 7 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Shaolin Kempo Karate... Thoughts?

jennreese Guest

Shaolin Kempo Karate... Thoughts?

Hi,

I just started studying "Shaolin Kempo Karate" at a Fred Villari's Self-Defense Studio. It's described as a mix of "Kung Fu, Karate, and Jiu Jitsu."

I've wanted to learn a martial art for a very long time, but have been too intimidated to start. This school came recommended as having a comfortable atmosphere and a higher percentage of women students. Since I really wanted to learn some form of Kung Fu (despite the proliferation of TKD studios in the area), I'm trying it out.

I've been taking classes for five weeks and I really enjoy it, but I'm interested in learning more about the school's or the style's reputation. I'm trying to make sense out of this large, confusing new world.

Any information or opinions would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks!
    Jenn

Silumkid Guest
    Hi Jenn,

To be honest with you, I know very little about Fred Villari or his style of martial arts. However, it is generally considered "wrong" for a karate style to associate with the Shaolin name. Take that as you will.

I think someone was posting info about Fred Villair previously. Try a search under Villari or Shaolin Kempo and I'm sure you'll find something.

Sorry I couldn't be more help.

Amitabha!

We are trained in wushu; we must protect the Temple!

jennreese Guest

Thanks!

Thanks for the suggestion to search, although I wish I hadn't done so. :)

I like the school, the other students, and my instructor very much, so I think I'll just be happy with that and try to ignore everything I just read. ;)

Just for the record, though, I'm interested in finding other KF schools in the Glendale/Pasadena CA area. Feel free to email so as not to clog the forum. (Or is there a more appropriate place I should have asked that?)

Thanks again,
    Jenn

nobody Guest

www.yellowpages.com...all you'll ever need