Thread: Kung Fu Rope Dart

Kung Fu Rope Dart

I've recently started self teaching myself the Rope Dart weapon. I have a 10 year background in Kung Fu and do a lot of Stage Combat and always thought the weapon was awesome. So I ordered a rope dart from SakuraMartialArts and picked up the video and book from : http://www.kungfubrothers.com/ropedart.html

So far the guide from KungfuBrothers is awesome but soon I will be at the end and will have learned all it has to offer. I'm wondering if anyone else has studied or self taught rope dart and if they have any books, videos, dvds, or advice to share so I can further my knowledge of this beautiful but dangerous weapon.

TC Media's Rope Dart DVD

Rope Dart
    Donald Hyun Kiolbassa has won several national championships with his Rope Dart technique. He studied extensively in Asia, having trained at the famous Kookiwon, the World Tae Kwon Do Headquarters in Seoul, South Korea, as well as the Shijingshan School of Physical Education in Beijing, China. He was under the direct tutelage of such renowned masters as Kim Su Han, Tian Hai Hong, Hong-Chao Zhang, Daniel Pesina and Manuel Marquez. In 2006, Donald was among the very first Tiger Claw Elite Grand Champions.
    Gene Ching
    Publisher www.KungFuMagazine.com
    Author of Shaolin Trips
    Support our forum by getting your gear at MartialArtSmart

hi neverfold,

I dont know if this a a rope dart, but came across it yesterday

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qJQJurkg_Ks ( shi yan li )

Looks amazing difficult !

And it hurts a lot when it hits you, you will get hit. Take some pipe insulator and put it around the dart and tape it with duct tape when you are learning this weapon.

I initially learned rope dart with a hard rubber ball my Sifu drilled out and strung the rope through. It had good weight but was still forgiving when I cracked myself.
    He most honors my style who learns under it to destroy the teacher. -- Walt Whitman