Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Mantis Body?

Mantis Body?

I have been studying Choy Lay Fut and Northern Shaolin for many years now, and about a year ago, I started leanring Taiji Meihua tanglangquan with my Shaolin Sifu (master Wong Guang Quan) ‘s son. I never intended in learning mantis, it just kind of happened. Im greatful for that now.

My problem is. I am a pretty big fellow, Im 1.93m tall and weigh about 100 kilos. As I mention, my background is in CLF, which I still think is a very good style, and I am still loyal to this style. Im struggling to “ loosen up” , and Im struggling to get my body work right. In the beginning, the stances were the biggest problem for me, it just felt very sloppy, but Im getting used to it now.

My Kung Fu brother (and mantis teacher) is just one of those “ prodigy” type kids. Having grown up in a kung fu family (his father is the guy who played the emperor in the Movie shaolin temple with jet li). He studied tongbeiquan before learning mantis, and so he is very used to the loose body work. He doesn’t always understand my problem that much, so I thought that there must be others in this forum who had the same problems when they first started learning.

I really enjoy the mantis, and I feel the difference this style has made in my CLF and xiaobeiquan. I would like to get more proficient in this style. I never give up once I try something, and Im getting pretty annoyed with myself.

There must be other bigger guys who also study TJMHTLQ ? Would someone be able to give me some advice on how to develop better and looser body type for this style? Any Advice, recommendations or suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

So far, I have learned the first summarised form, and White monkey stealing peach. Tonight I saw him perform 8 hands (I think) and wagon turner (that’s all he called them) and it made me even more eager to learn.

Thanks in advance.
    Eddie
    得 心 應 手

蔡 李 佛 中 國 武 術 學 院 - ( 南 非 )

Eddie,