Thread: Kung Fu and Chinese Medicine

Kung Fu and Chinese Medicine

Just curious how many out there have systems that teach kung fu and have a healing component? When it comes to the healing does the knowledge consist of bruise medicine aspects, iron palm/body.
    I remember Doc Fai Wong has a prractice in San fran and he clearly teaches. The was or is a guy in C-town named Guang who had a practice and taught Lung Ying. My teacher had no interest in learning herbs from his father but he's great in teaching and doing martial arts.

Pilgrim Sun wu kung Steve

Alot of sifu's out of HK know some sort of Medicine. My teacher is proficient in the Dit Da in terms of First Aid. He just would give us the medicine/lotions and tell us what massages or restrictions that went along with them.

Mostly it was due to Language.

When I studied with a Hung Ga teacher who also ran a Dit Da clinic, he was able to explain more and did provide me with various formulas. Was lucky to have a chinese classmate who was able to translate indepth what he was telling us. Also found myself assisting with clients from time to time (mostly just holding the moxa stick in place or helping to realign a limb, etc.)

Alot of my classmates today have gone on to study TCM (herbs, massage, accupuncture, etc) from the pacific institute in NYC. and are able to make a decent living out of it all with their martial arts instruction as a backup.

Our Monkey style includes massage, herbs, acupuncture and moxibustion. I have gathered a few bruise, iron palm and iron body formulas over the years. Though I have tried others, I use my own iron palm formula for personal training.

Healig and kung fu

Monkeyking,it's nice to be able to do massage/tui na, herbs and acupuncture. Did you go to the Ohio school of massage? I heard a Chinese medicine school from New Mexico openned an affiliate school in Columbus. Where did you learn massage, acupuncture, and herbs?
    Steve