Thread: Qigong Literature

Qigong Literature

Hi Guys,

I have been studying Wing Chun for approximately 2 years now and while i love Wing Chun, i feel that i would like to begin practicing qigong to build the spiritual/internal side of my kung fu.

I was wondering if anyone here could recommend a couple of books or a particular book which would be a good basis for practicing qigong. I was considering purchasing a book on soft and hard qigong from a well regarded white crane master as it is my understanding that Wing Chun was influenced heavily by White Crane. Is this a good idea?

Any advice would be appreciated.

Regards,

Trav.

The roots of Chinese qigong by Jwing Ming Yang
    Qigong health and martial arts by Jwing Ming Yang

the first book deals with theories
    the second book some basic exercises
    The author has White crane books and videos as well.

Thankyou for your quick reply, ill be sure to check out those books.

Regards,

Trav.

Nah, Yang is just a translator. Why not go for someone who has actual experience like Bruce Frantzis' Opening the Energy Gates of the Body or the guy who wrote The Way of Energy about zhan zhuan...Kam something.

Yang is just a translator
    Thomas Clearly is a translator
    Jwing Ming Yang is an actual qigong,Tai chi and martial art teacher.
    His book the roots of chinese qigong is a very nice detail work.

Bruce Frantzis'
    I read his work its decent Ken Cohen is a better begginers guide

The Way of Energy about zhan zhuan...Kam something.
    Great book however being able to a few posture and not knowing the theories of qigong is well like reading a cook book and not knowing how to measure.There are plenty of good books on Qigong by different authors most talk about 8brocade
    or microcosm orbit which is fine but I think if someone wants to learn from a book
    or wants to go deeper into Qigong a more detailed book would be good

Liang Shouyu's book