Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Sifus and Romance: Where to Draw the Line?

Sifus and Romance: Where to Draw the Line?

I have been talking with a good friend about the relationship of male sifus (of which I aspire to become) and their female students.

In general, I take an ascetic approach to students because of the sifu-student thing. I've vowed to never get romantically involved with a student.

I also wonder all the time about former students, whether it's "OK" to date them. It's not that I am or intend to right now, but maybe one day I might.

Dating students is strongly discouraged at the university where I'm a graduate teaching assistant.

What is your take on this?

Thats a though line. I would say to never cross it.
    strike!

What is your objective with the student?

What is your true objective with the student?

peace
    Kung Fu is good for you.

You should never get involved with a student. You are in a position of authority and power over them as a teacher, and you would be abusing your position.

I did date a student of a friend of mine, however. As I did not teach at his school, it seemed appropriate. She did end up working out with me, but it was never a student / teacher thing. She was my friend first.

In addition to your responsibilities to your students not to date them, you can also disrupt the club by doing this.
    "Never interrupt your enemy when they are making a mistake."
    --- Napoleon

"MonkeySlap is a brutal b@stard." -- SevenStar
    "Forgive them Lord, they know not what MS2 can do." -- MasterKiller
    "You're not gonna win a debate (or a fight) with MST. Resistance is futile." - Seven Star

It is a really bad look when teachers date students, no matter what the learning institiution. It tends to raise discontent amongst other students and will eventually arise in claims of favouritism. Be friends, but do not date.