PDA

View Full Version : Adrenalin RUSH

TaiChiStorm
11-24-2002, 02:17 PM
I am not experienced in fights at all!! But during these few situations when it nearly came to a fight, I always felt very excited and tense. I really felt the adrenalin rushing through my veins.

When I thought about it afterwards, I came to the question if I could use ANY of the things I learned at my MA school. Especially in my style (Tai Chi Praying Mantis) it is very important to be absolutely relaxed and concentrated. How can you be that, when you are in a fight? I am not this sort of guy who has fights every week so I can't really "get used to it".

How do you guys react in these situations? Any tipps how to be a
STEVEN SEAGAL :cool: ??

Greets TCS

Liokault
11-24-2002, 02:48 PM
Interesting.

I think its somthing thats hard to learn its just the way you are.

May be doing lots of high pressure training will prepare you but the only way to really learn to use your MA on the street is to get into lots of street fights.....and I would not advise that to anyone.

SevenStar
11-24-2002, 03:47 PM
spar full contact - Also, train with people you aren't familiar with. Don't go into a school challenging people, but be polite and ask to train and spar. We had a wrestler come to bjj today just because he wanted experience bjj. he was walking by and saw us, and he stopped and politely asked if he could roll with us. There's no harm in it. The adrenaline factor is there though, because you don't know who the guy is, how he fights, if he's better, if he will actually try to hurt you, etc.

Try doing alot of reality scenario drills. Ryuhad a post a few months back that outlined several. Of course none of these things I've metioned are the equivalent of actual fighting, but it will teach you to deal with things like adrenaline rush and staying relaxed and focused while under attack and/or after you've been hit.

LEGEND
11-24-2002, 05:19 PM